Sony Awards Winter 2021/2022

Sony Awards for International Master Programs of the Faculty 5 - Winners of the Student Awards in Winter 2021/2022

January 18, 2022 /


We are very proud to report on the Winners of the Sony Student Awards in winter semester 2021/2022 related to the

Sony Awards Program for International Master Students

of the faculty of Computer Science, Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, sponsored by the Company Sony Europe B.V. within its second funding period.

The four-year funding Sony Awards Program has been launched last year to promote internationalization in education and research. The program is targeting students from international Master programs in the wide field of Information Technology and is aiming at supporting active students during the last year of their study program.  The Sony Europe B.V., Stuttgart Technology Center (STC) has a close relationship to the Faculty of Computer Science, Electrical Engineering and Information Technology reflected by cooperation in diverse research projects.

After a call of applications for students in the third semester of our international Master programs: MSc Computer Science, MSc Computational Linguistics, MSc Electrical Engineering and MSc Information Technology, who fulfill a predefined set of requirements, the Jury selected the winners for the second funding period among many applications with impressive academic credentials and visionary thinking. We want to thank again all the applicants for the high quality of their application papers and references.

The student prizes were awarded during this year’s  Welcome Reception for International Students on December 1st, 2021 hosted by the Faculty Dean Prof. Ilia Polian and with participation of Mr. Markus Zumkeller and Mr. Oliver Erdler as representatives of the company Sony, who highlighted the importance of the program for the international research landscape and honored the hard work of our international programs’ students, especially in these challenging times.

The Sony Student Awards in winter semester 2021/2022 went to the following winners:

Ana Olssen Anas Mobasher Lyonel Behringer
Ana Olssen, M.Sc. Comp.Ling. Anas Mobasher, M.Sc. INFOTECH Lyonel Behringer, M.Sc. Comp.Ling.


We want to congratulate the winners again for this great achievement and hope that these awards will support them to achieve their visions.

Since some students have asked us about the application procedure, we would like to inform that for data protection reasons eligible students for application will be directly contacted by the central examination office. Corresponding emails will be sent with a call for application for the third round expectedly at the beginning of October 2022.

Finally, we are looking forward to the applications of the upcoming third funding period 2022/2023 and for celebrating with the winners and participants, hopefully in person as soon as permitted!

Dr. Emna Eitel

International Study Manager, Faculty 5


April 2024

February 2024

December 2023

November 2023

October 2023

September 2023

July 2023

June 2023

May 2023

April 2023

March 2023

February 2023

January 2023

November 2022

October 2022

September 2022

August 2022

July 2022

June 2022

To the top of the page